Crouching Orc, Hidden Panda

Welcome back hordies and wannabe hordies. This has been an incredible week for the world of Warcraft. If you’ve been hiding under a rock for the past few months, Mists of Pandaria dropped last Tuesday, and I’ve gotten very little sleep since. Now, I didn’t get to take off TEN DAYS like the Fikkle, but I did get a day off of teaching to play on Tuesday. Now THAT was a great day. Nimrock and I started off hanging out at Spiffie’s (long time friend and guildy). Now, I’m not called OldManSy for nothing, and 12am PST is NOT 12am central… I barely made it to midnight. I am an old man. Up and down a few times to log in, see a few things, get tired twenty minutes later and go back to bed… Next time, I’m just going to bed at “normal” OldMan time and tearing through the next morning. No question. Now in a week I’ve really not played my main, Gozz much. I’ve been in love with the monk class. I spend Tuesday morning and afternoon leveling my first monk as a windwalker. He made it to the ripe old age of 29. Now, it was at this point that I decided I wanted an Orc Monk. Soooooo, I’ve spent the rest of the week leveling an Orc, also a windwalker. I love the panda, don’t get me wrong, I’m still planning on leveling my panda, but he’s going brewmaster. It fits, I mean panda brewmaster. It has to happen. Back to the Orc. I spent the first fifteen levels flying through quests, and since then have been hammering the instances. Little by little I’ve gotten him to 32. Now, that’s not “flying,” but for me, it’s been a lot of playtime. Some of the abilities that the windwalkers have are amazing!

20120930-221201.jpg This move is SICK!!! Flying through the air, moving at extreme speed is not only fun, but sometimes DANGEROUS!!! My first instance after getting this ability was Rage Fire Chasm. Or as I like to call it, “take a bath in Lava…” I’ve since then learned to control my flight, but I’ve seen monks fly into the next pull, fly off of ledges, into lava, and even pull bosses. Yup. DPS pulling bosses is bad, mmmkay? Now, I am in love with orc’s, so my new monk, Galrog, has been a blast. As most of you know I’m a bit into RP… Soooooo, if you aren’t into the RP, skip the next short paragraph, look at the pictures, then leave your obligatory “RP is for nerds” comment. Kthanks.

20120930-221943.jpg So that’s the new Orc, son of Gozz, my main hunter. Now, Gozz was a fan of Thrall, Galrog has fallen into Garrosh’s camp and is happy with the direction he is taking the Horde. This has put stress on the family ties. Now, more to come in later posts on the Gozz/Galrog family feud. (See, i told you it would be a short paragraph!)

Okay, back to the monk flying kick of awesome. Here is a bit of a visual if you haven’t had the chance to see just how far this moves you. We start out here, look at the farm in the background, that’s where we are heading.

20120930-222515.jpg Hit the kick…

20120930-222538.jpg BOOM DRAGON!!!

20120930-222657.jpg Aaaaaannnnnndddd now I’m at the farm. Now, put fire pits, tons of mobs, and bosses all around, you can see how this could be a huge problem for some monks. Some monks. I’m really afraid that we are going to end up with the monk version of the huntard…. The monktard. Hopefully, after a month or two of the monk being over powered, and super fun to level, the NERF bat will come back out, and everyone will go back to playing their favored class, and the number of monks that get to 90 will level out a bit with your hunters, pallys, priests, and druids. Honestly, I’m hoping this happens. Afterall, who wants to play world of monkcraft? It leveled out for death knights, so I don’t see why it shouldn’t even out for monks as well.

Leave me a comment with your thoughts, I really am curious to see what you all think of how monkmania is panning out for you guys. Now, I leave you with your monk zen moment of the post. Enjoy.

20120930-223319.jpg OldManSy

Leave a Reply

