I can read: Warcraft books from Cataclysm

I know, MoKFP has released, but really, do you need another impression of the expansion?  I am planning on giving you my impression, but I played from about 2:15AM CDT, took a nap in the middle of the day and then ended my day about 6PM CDT to watch my newly arrived Avengers Blu-Ray.

I like MoKFP. There, in 3 words I summed up the post I may or may not write later on.

Today, though, I wanted to talk about the Warcraft books, specifically, The Shattering and Thrall: Twilight of the Aspects. I just finished Thrall last night, finishing Shattering a few days before. I read fast and I read Thrall pretty much in one day. I am behind on the books and I need to catch up. I’ve started Jaina, but I am not that far into it.

I am not going to get into the Knaak vs Golden debate. I like both.

I love Thrall and for those that have read some of my RP stories, you’ll know Halkale loves Thrall too. I see Thrall as the ultimate Orc. Yes, I know Kor loves him some Garrosh and I’ll be honest, I think Blizz may be doing Garrosh a disfavor by not developing him, but I am not sure every hero needs to be redeemed.

Thrall is about honor and understanding that the Orcs must be about something more than war and destruction. Yes, the game is called World of WARcraft, but let’s be honest, other than a few areas, are we really at war? Is Mists going to change that, as we believe based on rumors and hints?

Shattering really renewed my interest in the dwarven history and lore and made me want to run out and get my dwarven paladin leveled. I also think Varian came out looking okay in the book and I am looking forward to see how they bring Anduin up.

The book Thrall combines my love of Thrall and the Aspects, especially the Life-Binder. Again, if you’ve read my stories you know that the red dragonflight plays a huge part in them. I absolutely love all the quests that deal with them and Halkale will always use the red drake has his flying mount.

I really wish I had read these two books prior to the release of Cataclysm or at least before I went through all the quests in the zones. Seriously, they make a lot of those quests come alive even more. Especially the Call of the World Shaman line.  I really wasn’t planning on buying the Wolfheart book, but I am now.

These books really fill in the holes between WOTLKEE and Cata, but based on the few hours of questing that I did Tuesday, I am not sure there is much needed to explain Panderia. Although, if they released some books on the Panda’s adventures from the Shattering to MoKFP, I am pretty sure WOW folks would buy them, yes?

I do believe that after you read the books you might not hate Varian and Garrosh as much, maybe not at all. Both are flawed, yes, but I think they balance people like Jaina and Thrall and even Cairne who don’t seem to be imperfect. Until you read Thrall and realize how much self doubt the big guy goes through.

I really would like to have a book written on the Tauren perspective. I know there are rumors the next book will be on Vol’jin. Not a huge fan of trolls in game, but hey perhaps I’ll learn a few things from a book.

I know when I was reading the Star Wars books, preparing for TOR, there was a lot of debate on canon. I know in the past, Knaak’s universe vs the other authors was debated. It seems that Blizzard has combined the two story lines a little bit. Characters that never appeared or played so minor roles in other authors, but were main characters in Knaak seem to have a place in Golden’s telling of the world, granted she did kill off one of my favorite reds, but did it with such feeling, I got a little misty-eyed…okay a lot.

I said I wouldn’t get into the debate, but I do think Golden may be the better story teller, the better emotion puller. Perhaps it’s the stories she’s allowed to tell or not. I know a good book when I read one, I know it because I find myself in the characters’ hearts and minds and I go through their emotions. I find a do that with both authors, but maybe Golden just a little more.

I love the books, but I do agree with one blogger (I think it might have been BBB) who said since the books started releasing, Blizz got lazy with in game lore. At the same time, the books allow me to read the “in-between” stuff and make sure I am caught up on both sides of the war.

Read the books, I think you’ll enjoy them.

 

 

Leave a Reply

