The Good Azerothan

“A lowbie was going down from the Sepulchar to Tarren Mill, when he fell into the blades of a rogue. He ganked him, camped him and after a while went away, leaving him to another corpse run. A priest happened to be going down the same road, and when he saw the lowbie, he passed by on the other side. So too, a Paladin, when he came to the place and saw him, passed by on the other side. But an Azerothan, as he traveled, came where the man was; and when he saw him, he took pity on him. He went to him and bandaged his wounds, giving him food and water. Then he put the man on his own mount, took him to the inn in Tarren Mill and took care of him. The next day he took out two gold and gave them to the innkeeper. ‘Look after him,’ he said, ‘and when I return, I will reimburse you for any extra expense you may have…”

 Now I’m sure that many people have heard the story of the Good Samaritan.  Why do I bring it up?  Well, my experiment trying to play an Alliance character for the first time has got me to thinking.  I’ve found that despite having played the game for some time, being in an entirely new environment, I feel lost.  I don’t know the zones, I don’t know the quest hubs, and I don’t know where to go to complete many of the quests.  The beginner zones didn’t really pose this problems.  These zones are a fairly simple walkthrough that you can generally complete without ever having played a computer game or an MMO before.  The second town you reach, didn’t seem to pose this problem either, although there were one or two quests I was unsure of exactly where I needed to go to complete, I was able to get them done without too much trouble.

Now my Dwarf Hunter has reached the level 10 zone.  Since he’s followed his race’s progression, that has taken him to Loch Modan.  I was able to find the the town no problem, as well as the flight point and he’s picked up all of the quests, but I’ve never done a single quest in this zone before and its all very new to me.  I find it interesting how much simpler it is for me to level a Horde character now that I know almost all the Horde zones, all the quest hubs and where to go to complete all of those objectives.  I’ve taken it for granted just how accustomed I’ve become to doing that.

But the Alliance character has given me a new perspective about what it was like when I first started playing this game, back when I had no idea about any of the things I now take for granted.  Its also given me a new perspective about the inevitable ‘newbie’ who will ask a question in general chat only to be flamed or ignored.  I have to confess.  I have been the ‘priest’ and the ‘paladin’ before.  I’ve seen their questions, known the answer to them and just ignored them.  I don’t do that anymore.  If I notice that someone needs help, I know send them a whisper, helping them if I can.  Knowing what its like being that ‘newbie’ can make you see things a bit differently.  I now try to be a Good Azerothan.  Do you? 

2 Responses to “The Good Azerothan”

  1. Let em all burn…..You might say I’ve taken the roll of the synical old man. I’ve been in wow for a while, and have a few 70’s. Noobs get on my nerves. Yet, if I rolled an alliance toon, which for the moment, I will not be, I would also be a fresh-meat noobie, ripe for the picking. Meh, that’s why I’ll be horde side!!! At least until I get burned out on orc’s, trolls, tauren, undead, and bloodel….wait, I’m already tired of the blood elfs!

  2. […] a Newbie Revisited Yesterday I talked about the value of helping others in game, of being a Good Azerothan.  Well I got the chance to put my gold where my mouth is last night by helping out someone who is […]

Leave a Reply

