Monking Around

Welcome back everyone, I hope your weekend was as productive as mine. welcome back to work all of my canadian friends, I hope your holiday was great. I had a great weekend with the family, my daughter had a birthday party, sugar, wrapping paper, and boxes still litter my house… when you think you have it all picked up, cleaned up, guess what… THERE I S STILL MORE HIDING!!!

As for my ingame time this weekend, it was slim to none, but that didnt keep me from leveling from 52 to 58. Now I know what some of you hardcore gamers out there are saying when I tell you I’ve only gotten my monk to lvl 58, “noob” “slowpoke” and “lollearntoplay” come to mind. I on the other hand am quite proud of what I’ve done with my wow time since Pandaria dropped. I checked my played time on Saturday afternoon, and as of then had played a total of 17 hours and change. This isn’t all of my Pandaria play time. I started a panda monk, leveled him to 30, then decided I wanted an Orc monk, was too cheap to drop 25 bucks for a race change, and rerolled ANOTHER monk.

Up until this point I had really done nothing but dungeon finder from level 15-52. Then I hit the dreaded mid 50’s slog. Now, is it just me or is this the proving grounds levels in the slog to 90? I had ran with a ton of groups who were flying through instances. Tanks could easily hold aggro, healers had no problems keeping everyone alive, and DPS did their jobs by destroying things(minus tanks…. Their threat generation through the vengeance mechanic((attack power increase while being beat on)) kept their DPS through the roof). When I hit those 50’s lvl instances, that all seemed to end. Once we got into ZF, DM, ya know, late 40’s early 50’s this all changed. I was in horrid group after horrid group. Tanks couldn’t hold threat, even after giving them plenty of room up front to build threat, healers couldn’t keep tanks, yet alone DPS alive(tanks first of course) and NOONE KNEW WHERE THEY WERE GOING!!!

After wasting my time in dungeons leveling to 54 on Friday evening, I decided that when I got in game Saturday I would just start hitting some quests rather than dungeons. So, I logged in Saturday afternoon during my kiddo’s nap and went looking for the quest board outside of Hellscream’s place. Silithis. Ok, I haven’t been there in…. Well, forever. So, I hopped on the flight path and ignored the game for the three minute flight, while rewatching season two of the walking dead to catch up for season three, which dropped last night… That’s another rant in itself, I’m a dish network customer…. RasafrasadishnetworksucksfordroppingAMC…

Anyway, back to wow… I was shocked at how fast I was leveling questing. I went from 54 to 56 in about thirty minutes… Blown away. So, last night I sat down to knock out a level before bed. I destroyed the blasted lands in around an hour, and hit 58. Now I am super excited about heading into outlands. Honestly, I loved the quests, the zones, the dungeons. I think I will fly throu outlands and into northrend just as fast. Will I go back to dungeons? Yes, and yes. I love the dungeons in outlands, with the hellfire peninsula dungeons being some of my favorite in the game… RED ORC’S!!!

Am I power leveling through the game, not really, but on my casual schedule, I’m going as fast as I can! I love the monk. On a side note, the rising tiger kick thingie at 56…. Best move to date. I love the crap out of it. If I wasn’t destroying mobs before this, now I’m two and three shooting mobs. Amazing. If you haven’t read up, or listened to any monk related guides, Eatmopie does a guest appearance on the Sept. 24th episode on Convert to Raid. If you want to find Eatmopie(he’s not perfect, he’s a gnome after all) he is on Facebook, just look for Eatmopie. I really think Pie would like this guy, just a guess.

Guys, have a great week, get your work done, family first, then tear up Azeroth for me.
~OldManSy

3 Responses to “Monking Around”

  1. You had at least one healer that knew what they were doing in the late 40’s to 50 range. /glare

  2. Yes, that was a general statement. I had a few good healers, a few good tanks. Usually not on the same runs. The tank we ran with in ZF had problems holding aggro, even on fights that don’t drop aggro…

  3. Yeah, the tank in ZF was lolbad, I guess. As a healer, I only care about my aggro and health bars. Probably could talk more about that if I was dps. The healer in the DM run was pretty good, the wipe was a tactical error, not a tanking error. Although, one could say, that’s still on them.

    I love druid healing, but I will say this, it’s kinda boring, because everyone is in heirlooms and such and no one takes a ton of damage, except when they pull 2-3 groups or 4… And sometimes the bosses.

    I haven’t had a mana problem since..hrm..Don’t know when, even on my mage it’s not mana that is my problem it’s health.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

