The Call of the World-Shaman or how I found out how much I really missed Cata.

Tuesday is coming. Monday night, or Tuesday morning, however you look at it, is very, very near. This time next week, we’ll be rolling in pandas and new zones and I am sure multiple people will be 90. Heck some of the raiding guilds may even be ready to raid, having steamrolled to 90 and started on heroics.  These past couple of weeks may have been dead time for a lot of you. You might have run through the Theramore scenario a couple of times. I haven’t. I don’t have any characters with the iLevel to do so. Bratwurst is getting close, could probably spend JP to get there. But that has not been my goal this week. My goal this week is to try to see the zones I haven’t seen, to help Skullreaver gain guild levels and to prepare for MoKFP. Yes, I took Illidan’s challenge to heart. Every expansion, I must BE PREPARED!

Brat finished Twilight Highlands earlier this week and I had looked over a few guides on how to get a fresh 85 geared for heroics and noticed a quest that gives an epic cloak for a reward. A quest that involves dealing with Thrall.

Yes, I know this quest was released a long time ago, but I just started playing again. For those of you that are new to the blog or those catching up, Halkale is a huge fan of Thrall. I am also a huge fan of Thrall. To be able to help Thrall is awesome. The other day, Kor and I did this quest on Bratwurst and Kor. I loved it then, but doing it on Halk was so much more awesome. Of course, I died because I took on too many mobs, but that is beside the point.

So, Brat got his tanking cloak, and if you look closely, you can see Halk wearing his Mantle of Doubt.

Just hanging out with Thrall and Aggra. Oh yeah, and the Aspects. You know, what Halk likes to call Monday.

First, Halkale hasn’t finished Hyjal or Twilight Highlands. I started Vashj’ir right after Cataclysm released, stopped a few quests in and leveled Brat and Crispers my mage first. The focus system was a big change and the guild was in a state of flux and Kor quit the game soon after launch and we started moving around characters. So Halkale finished that zone, then went to Deepholm, then to Uldum to level to 85. Since, as you can see above, Halkale is still in Super Friends, I had been finishing zones with Bratwurst to proved guild XP to Skullreaver. Halk is staying in SF until I can afford all the helms and cloaks I need to send over to another server…or two.

Okay back to the quest line. Oh my word. I love these quests. I love the fact that you try to help Thrall in 4 different zones. I love the NPC conversation in Deepholm. I was going to name the post We are patient, but I am not really. Last night as I was finishing this on Halk, Kor and his brother were discussing things, especially their ideas on what might happen to Garrosh.  As the argument got heated, I would blurt out: We are patient and some of Aggra’s responses to Thrall.

The first time I got to the fire area, I didn’t really read the quest text, so I flailed around for a bit, which allowed Kor to catch up to me and we finished the end together. On Halk, I read the quest text and realized how to make it easier and probably faster.  I guess that’s one of the downsides to leveling with WoW-Pro, you are used to letting the addon tell you what to do.

What I do know after finishing this quest is that I missed Cataclysm. There are so many things I want to do, but I don’t have the time to do them all. Some of them will have to wait until after Mists drops. I haven’t seen many of the new “improved” zones. I have leveled several Tauren up and LOVE the new starter zone. I’ve done troll and gnome and goblin areas. I want to try out the undead zone too. I have a dwarf ready to paladin his way through any changes from that perspective.

So Tuesday morning, I’ll get up early (probably not 2AM early) and start leveling Braturst to 90. Taking my time and trying to find all the cool things Blizzard did for us. Next week, I’ll share my travels with you. Will I get Halk or Brat an iLevel high enough to see the new scenario before then? I don’t know. In the end, I am having fun.  And the game should be fun, yes?

As I read back over the 800ish words written, I realize this post seems a bit rambling. Not nearly as passionate as last week’s post. Not nearly as informative as I’d hoped. I was going to detail the quests, but decided that you, if you haven’t, should experience this quest without really knowing what was going to happen. I am so ready for MoKFP. I am ready to start the new journey, even while I am hoping to start new characters from the starter areas. I feel like I am telling you things you saw a year ago, hopefully my joy in seeing them reignites a spark for your love of the game.

Tuesday’s coming. I am ready for Mists to arrive.

 

2 Responses to “The Call of the World-Shaman or how I found out how much I really missed Cata.”

  1. I feel bad. I still have not done that quest.

    I have 5 level 85 characters, so there is no excuse.

    I still don’t know why I haven’t done that stupid quest >.>

  2. I would not have done it, had I not been looking for ways to increase my iLevel and saw that it had a great reward. I was focusing on finishing all the cata zones for my characters and running dungeons to learn to tank again.

    I would highly recommend it, though. It’s a good quest chain. Takes probably an hour to do all of it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

