The End has Come… and Gone.

The End is Here! 4.0.1 is upon us! The time for making amends has come! Woe is me!

Okay, so maybe that’s a bit dramatic. As many of you have experienced first hand, yesterday Tuesday October 12, 2010 Patch 4.0.1 dropped. This is the big precursor patch for Cataclysm that makes sure everything is ready for the big release. all of the class changes, talent changes, user interface changes, and general newness has entered the world of warcraft. Yes, it is VERY different. It is a bit scary, even for a five-year vet like myself, but with a bit of reading, some time messing around with target dummies or in the field, and I’m sure all of us will be back on our feet dispatching homies with prejudice. ( I think I heard that in a rap song)

I’ve been a bit bored of Wow in recent months. I was even considering that I might have grown up a bit and needed to move on permanently from wow. I took most of the summer off, not even logging in the entire month of June, and finally letting my account lapse in July. Around mid september I picked the game back up, very casually. I play only in the late evening after my daughter is in bed, and only if all of my work is done and the wife doesn’t want to watch some tv. (we’ve gotten hooked on netflix and television seasons.)

So, my first impressions of wow 4.0 are as such:
The first thing that struck me was how fun the new talent trees look. Take my rogue for instance. The tree descriptions AMAZE me. Fancy words like Assassin, Swashbuckler, and Executioner… SERIOUSLY. My rogue has been 80 for over a year, and has sat there, content in junk gear not being played. Rogue was a huge love for me in wow for a long time, but it was lack luster at 80 for me. Now I’m totally wanting to play her.

The next thing I noticed was my hunter. Yes, yes, the tree’s are pretty much the same, BUT I have a new game mechanic, focus. I also have HUGE stables!!! I can keep up to five pets ON ME, and TWENTY in the stables!!!!! I must set up a good BM spec and go out and round-up EVERY PET I’VE EVER DREAMED OF USING!!!!  I’ve been a hunter through and through, now I see myself playing Gozz, and at least 2-3 other hunters as well! (I have a 56 troll hunter with a full set of Gladiator waiting for him at 60, a worgen, and an undead hunter with my internet namesake waiting on Cata!)

Thirdly( is this even a word?Grammar Hammer ruling needed please.) the graphical overhaul. The new water/lava effects are very well done, and just like other graphical changes was much-needed. I had to bump my rig back down a bit, but my computer could handle the graphics, but not at the frame rates I like to see. Either I’m stuck getting a smaller monitor(BOO) or finally updating my rig… (How can I get this one approved by the committee…aka wife…)

Fourthly, This has my interest peaked again. That’s the end all at the moment. If this game can keep me happy, keep me around, keep my friends playing, then I will be here…. Well, at least until the spring of 2011… Then the inner nerd inside of me that lives in a galaxy far far away just may take over… I’m just saying… Wow Vs. SW…. No contest. Especially a Bioware MMO. KOTOR I&II were AMAZING. But for now, Blizzard is doing a good job of bringing me back in. Good on ya Blizz, good on ya.

Also, if this didn’t interest you, Here’s a Pony.

Rambling on since 1980,
~Uncle Sy

One Response to “The End has Come… and Gone.”

  1. Nice Pony, lol

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

