Fikkle found being dps by moths for his balls?

Lok’tar friends. Well I doubt anyone still has us in their feed readers at this point, after months of defunct blog status, but I think I might make a reappearance to the blogosphere soon. For a while I didn’t think I had much to say. Now, I still don’t think I do, but I miss writing, so there it is. Today I’m going to talk about my mage. I’ll probably do a post about what I’ve been up to over the wrath expansion soon.

So I got back to playing my mage last night for the first time in I don’t know how long. The toon, Fikkle, hasn’t been my main since mid-BC and hasn’t received any kind of serious playtime since the Shattered Sun Offensive began.

I levelled him a bit sometime since Wrath was released, as he’s level 74 (now 75), but the only reason he got any playtime at all was so that he could learn to port to Dal, which is useless for my other 9 characters on that server / account, but was done for my friends.

Lately, however, I’ve grown nostalgic a bit about him. He has just under 10k lifetime honor kills and is a bag making and gear chanting machine. But I’ve never had any desire to play him after I started to seriously level alts and discover the other classes. For whatever reason, last night I decided to pull him out of mothballs (Merciless Gladiator mothballs, no less) get him into some heirloom gear and go start levelling. I did a bunch of quests and some Arathi Basin pvp, as well as a random DTK run.

When I logged him in, I realized he was Fire spec’d, which is odd, since I haven’t played him as fire since he was level 50. I decided to go back to Frost for pvp and survivability and oh man was it ever a great choice.

During the DTK run the tank and the other two dps died to black bad on the ground and the three mobs turned toward me. Blizzard and the other roots in frost saved me and allowed me to survive and kill the mobs. The healer tossed a few heals, but that was about it. The same thing happened again later and once again I solo’d them, with a few heals.

Now I’m not saying that Gnomer said was wrong about the whole fire/frost/arcane arguement, but I do know for a fact that if I had tried that as fire I would have been the proverbial bug on the proverbial windshield. Frost’s survivability and control is wickedly powerful and so I think I’ll stick with it, at least for now.

That being said, there was that one Rogue in AB that really wanted roasted steak on a stick for dinner, but was forced to settle for tenderized mage on two daggers instead. I still contend that rogues are far too powerful. Nerf rogues. Make them dps with chopsticks… Toothpicks… Dental floss! Yep, we have a winner. Rogues dual wielding dental floss in the next patch. Blizz make it happen, and don’t worry, you can claim the idea was yours, I totally don’t mind.

Stay Hordecore,

– Fikkle

6 Responses to “Fikkle found being dps by moths for his balls?”

  1. zomg a Fikkle sighting! Beauty eh?

  2. I know right! Fikkle’s actually level 76 now. I have a feeling he’s going to be my 8th level 80 character… I must be nuts!

  3. WELCOME BACK!! /releases the balloons

  4. Is there cake with those baloons? Don’t tell Pie if there is, he’s got this thing with cake… He wouldn’t understand. ;)

  5. “Now I’m not saying that Gnomer said was wrong about the whole fire/frost/arcane argument…”

    Good… as long as that is clear ;-)

    You go play with bad tanks… me I go kill mobs…

    Actually, I guess I have reached that gear level now, where if I do pull aggro in a 5 man, I just pound on the mob as it approaches me.

    Once in a while I apologize to the tank for pulling aggro.
    Occasionally I apologize to the healer while getting my rez.
    Most of the time I wonder if I am the only dps on the run.. cause the scoreboard aint showing much else.

  6. I’m nowhere near that point yet. Although I went back to arcane since posting this (when I hit 80).

    I actually wouldn’t mind giving fire a try, but I feel like I know so little about fire now as far as stat choices, talent choices, glyph choices, spell rotations… It’s been about two years since I played as a fire mage, so I feel like it’s a totally different class now. The recent article on wow.com about fire aoe in cata got me super excited for fire though. >.<

    Just what I need, more to remember about this game.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

