I’m in a glass case of emotion.

Well, for the first time I can remember, I’ve been kicked out of my guild. And I don’t know how to take it. Allow me to set the scene:

After Ashes of Tirisfal stopped being active I found another ‘raiding’ type guild on my server. It was a guild I enjoyed being in. Most of the members I liked and I greatly respected the co-GM’s. I raided with them sparsely but I enjoyed the part I was allowed to play.

So all of that changed yesterday. I was in ICC 10 with a pug/friends group and someone in guildchat started making fun of a random rogue in leveling gear. Spellpower leveling gear. Not a rogue in his party, just some guy questing in the same area, alone. I suggested that the rogue wasn’t causing any trouble, that +20% xp was better than better itemized stats and that he should hush. “sry i didn’t mean to make fun of ur boyfriend” is the response. “Imagine if the poor guy only had one set of leveling gear,” I say. One of the GM’s pipes up and says “he should buy another one.” Then the other GM jumps in and says “that’s my brother, you have to respect my brother,” and I am promptly kicked from the guild. Immediately I get a whisper from the kicker that says, in effect, “send me your crybaby letter in the mail and I’ll read it later.”

I’ll admit that I’ve never cried and I’ve never thrown anything over WoW. Yesterday I did both. I was so hurt and shocked. I told the GM that I had always been a friendly, helpful member of the guild and that she was being short-sighted and nepotistic.

So I logged over to Argent Dawn and hid in <Single Abstract Noun>. They were supportive and told me horror stories about guild drama that made me feel downright thankful for my experience.

So I’m frustrated and humiliated and…looking for a casual Horde raiding guild that needs a Druid Healer, must have cool tabard and guild bank. pst.

14 Responses to “I’m in a glass case of emotion.”

  1. Wow. Just … wow. You know though … you’re better off NOT being in a guild with those type of people running it. *hugs*

  2. pitrelli Says:

    better off not being in a guild like that, its kinda why I shirk from raiding and raid guilds it really does bring out the bad in even the most friendly player.

  3. The more I think of it, the more I’m of a mind to put my healer on the back burner for the time being. He’s geared beyond my wildest expectations and I’ve got some other fun characters I’ve been neglecting.

  4. My husband gets on my case because I say, “I hate people,” too often. This is a perfect example of why. It’s easy to say you’re too good for them (you are) but it’s hard to feel the truth of that when it happens to you personally. Here’s the thing. There was more going on there than you were aware of and probably 0% of it had anything to do with you. It sounds like (1) they’re kids — very immature and poorly parented kids and (2) they were just looking for an excuse to purge the guild of everyone who isn’t “Insert Dumbass Reason Here.” That means you could’ve been Mother Theresa and they’d have gkicked you the first time you made a typo. What I’m trying to say (poorly and rambly) is that what happened has no reflection on you personally even though it hurts. Sigh. AoT RIP.

  5. Come to Shadow Rising! :D

    I am sure Arioch would agree

  6. I have to agree with Repgrind here. It may not feel like it right now, but you really are better off out of a guild that treats people like that.

    Seriously, how pathetic are they?

  7. Pugnacious Priest Says:

    I hate guilds that gkick for no good reason. A Gkick should only be used when someone really deserves it, you didn’t – but from the sounds of it, it was the best thing for you – you know what sort of asshats you were playing with.

  8. Lactic Acid Says:

    sometimes… i hate people

  9. That sucks Nim, but like everyone else has already said….you are too good for them!

    If any of your leveling toons need a healer friend I’ve got a druid at 68 just out questing by myself :)

  10. DO NOT GO TO REPGRIND’S GUILD… they are way tooo nice.. way too nice, it’s just not acceptable…

    Roll a Gnome/transfer to a Gnome

    DO NOT GO TO REPGRIND’S GUILD…

    There is an extreme risk of fun, achievements and.. blogging topics…

  11. Thanks for all the support everyone. It’s hard to reconcile the fact that it is “just a game” with the fact that we’re playing with real people who act like real idiots.

    @Slig RIP AoT indeed.

    @Pugnacious And I hate the attitude that there’s nothing to talk about. Just a /gkick and that’s it.

    @Grubs I’ve got a Mage right around there, I’ll hit you up sometime soon.

    @Gnomer If Gnome druids were a thing, I’d be on it.

  12. LOL Gnomer. Nimmy’s already got a nice little dwarven hunter in Crits that I’ve helped gear up a bit. He just needs to log into him more often!

  13. […] For the Horde Lok’tar Ogar! « I’m in a glass case of emotion. […]

  14. @ Nim – you’re one of the greatest people I’ve had the pleasure of hanging with on these here internets. It’s too bad that bad things happen to good people, but as many others have noted, it’s probably a blessing in disguise. And yes, RIP AoT.

    Fik

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

