WOTLKEE ZOO! WHICH IS FOR YOU?

EDIT 1: Well, gotta head back to work, so no time for links at the moment, but I’ll get those in there later tonight.

EDIT 2: Corrected a lot of errors that I forgot I had to double check before I posted.  Thats what I get for writing this after midnight from memory and thinking, “Oh, I’ll double check that before I put it out for all the intertubz to read”.  I also changed pet #6 because I was waaaaaay off.  Nuff Said.  Links still  coming soon.

EDIT 3: Links are finally in.  If anyone notices any mistakes still, let me know, I was sleepy when this one was written.

With all the changes coming out about Rash of the Itch Thing for Hunter Pets, it’s a veritable zoo and exciting to say the least.

BRK is once again at the business end of the Dwarven Hand Canon when it comes to passing great info about Wrath, having obtained a spot in the ßeta, he’s eagerly testing things out and putting out videos like they’re breath mints.  Speaking of breath mints, if you haven’t given any to your pet lately, you may want to.  Its bad enough they chew the faces off of our enemies, the least we can do is make smell pleasant for them when our pets are panting on them.  He’s also recently posted a ‘who’s who in the zoo’ (See what I did there? Yes, I did go there).  He talks about the (pet) winners and losers in Wrath and even lists a few that are in between at the moment until more info comes out about how they perform.

Mania is also ever-vigilant in keeping Petopia updated with as much Hunter Pet info as she can find.  She has an amazing FAQ up about new WOTLKEE pets, hunters and screenshots with many new pets and skins coming in Wrath.  A great big thanks on behalf of all of us Hunters who appreciate the hard work that both BRK and Mania (as well as anyone else in the ßeta that is putting this info out for us to munch on).  Whether or not everyone else agrees, I couldn’t say, but I know that their tireless effort is much appreciated and a thank you from those of us not lucky enough to get a key never hurts.

So, since I can’t hope to devote enough time to match their efforts, (nor do I see any reason to duplicate them), I’m not goig to go into the news of the ßeta with respect to pets.  I am however going to discuss what my stable will look like in Wrath.  First off, one of my favorite changes in the ßeta is the addition of two additional stable slots.  /thankgod.  What does that mean to me?  Well, I’m now going to be able to keep 5 pets, instead of 2 while leveling and 3 at level cap.  That is just full of win (if it makes it live of course).  So this is going to be my top 6 Wrath Hunter Pets and why.  (6 because I’ll likely use one for leveling and change it at level cap).

1. Pet: Devilsaur (Ferocity)
Skin: White. I just like the way this one stands out.
Why: This is a sure thing for me.  Blizz could totally nerf <Monstrous Bite> and give them Dino Fart that caused a RAP reducing debuff on their owner and I’d still take it.  But its not likely that they will nerf it and MB seems like a great talent right now.  With the Devilsaur being a Ferocity Pet, its likely going to be right up there for top raiding pet post patch 3.0.
Reason: COOLNESS FACTOR & RAIDING

2. Pet: Hyena (Ferocity)
Skin: White or Black
Why: Of all the special abilities that have been released in ßeta, this one is the most exciting for me.  <Tendon Rip> (slows enemy movement for 6 sec; 20 sec cooldown, 25 focus) seems like it gives the most bang for its buck.  The movement impairing effect lasts six seconds, which gives a Hunter plenty of time to get away (4 more than intimidation currently) and being on a 20 sec cooldown, it can be reapplied quite often.  Nor does it cost the lion’s share of his focus (yes, I went there as well).  All that said, I’ll probably turn off his focus dump and use him mainly for BW/TBW and his kiting effect while pvp’ing.
Reason: PVP

3. Pet: Crocolisk (Tenacity)
Skin: River / Marsh
Why: <Bad Attitude> is full of win.  Period.  As an AoE tanking pet, the Crocolisk is going to be able to deal some pretty sweet AoE damage to anything that hits it.  If Mend Pet can keep him alive and he can survive multi-mob attacks, this is going to be easy mode.  I expect to use the Crocolisk as my leveling pet from 70 to 80.
Reason: BAD ATTITUDE (Okay, AoE / LEVELING, but Bad Attitude sounds so much better!)

4. Pet: Rhino (Tenacity)
Skin: Slate
Why: Aside from the Devilsaur, I think this is one of the coolest additions to the Zoo.  I have yet to watch the video BRK put out with this bad boy, but I’ve seen the screen shots (and the video as well now).  Under Beastial Wrath he looks just freaking huge.  And destructive.  Might as well call him <Mammoth> (Dibs on that name, btw).  Provided their special ability (when it comes out) is viable, I’ll likely use this beast whenever I don’t NEED to be using something else.
Reason: COOLNESS FACTOR / DAILIES / GRINDING / INSTANCES

5. Pet: Wolf (Ferocity)
Skin: Frostwolf (Dire Wolf Skin Light Blue)
Why: While BRK termed this pet a toss up due to its buff <Furious Howl> only affecting melee, I’m likely going to have one anyways.  Grimshott’s from the Frostwolf clan, yo!  EDIT:  Much thanks to Drotara at Less QQ, More Pew Pew for pointing out that Furious Howl does now affect the Hunter which is a nice change! 
Reason: RP

6. Pet: Chimaera (Cunning)
Skin: Blue
Why: First off, I’m sorry Bre, I know you have this whole tryst going on with the Chimaera, but I think these things are ugly and I can’t believe I’m actually considering this.  But if they can get the <Froststorm Breath> working properly it might be like having your very own Frost Mage/Ele Shammy pet running around with you.  Kiting plus lightening?  I’m in, even if the thing does look like a rat lizard with wings and too many heads… Let me tame a real dragon and I’ll be happy!
Reason: ABILITIES ARE BETTER THAN IT LOOKS (and by it I mean the pet, not the ability).

SO SAY WE ALL!

 

– Fikkle

9 Responses to “WOTLKEE ZOO! WHICH IS FOR YOU?”

  1. BRK was wrong on both accounts regarding Furious Howl however. Not only is the range of Furious Howl being increased so it will hit the Hunter, the ability now adds a 5% increase on your next attack that very much does affect ranged attacks.

    Take care!

  2. forthepie Says:

    I am seriously thinking of calling my Rhino: Liner

  3. Lactic Acid Says:

    Yeah this is my current brain-ache too.
    Do I keep the warp for tanking when he gets no extra aggro skills?
    Do I keep my cat for dps/pvp when he gets no extra dps skills?
    Will I probably be taking a hyena over my wolf for PVP?

    …and so on sigh (happily with the extra stable slots I may just tame a wolf anyway.) :)

  4. […] For the Horde – WotLK Zoo: Which is for you? […]

  5. […] DPS winners and losers (in terms of hunter specs) in the Wrath beta. And For the Horde posted his top 6 picks for Wrath hunter […]

  6. They only added 2 additional Stable slots. You can’t have 6 pets, only 5. So that last one doesn’t count.

  7. @ Kristy – Actually, I’m quite aware of this which is why I mentioned that I will be keeping the Crocolisk until I hit 70, and then getting rid of it for the Chimaera. Thanks for the comments!

  8. […] I posted a few weeks back my top 6 pets for WOTLK (using 1 for leveling, then abandoning it and picking up another at 80), but since then, things […]

  9. […] For the Horde – WotLK Zoo: Which is for you? […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

