Family, Guilds and Gear, Oh My!

FAMILY

In a few of the podcasts I listen to there is usually a question that comes up as to whether new people are still starting to join WoW.  I can say from personal experience that I know of two that have started in the past few months.  One of Sy’s RL friends started up a few months ago and is now around level 30 (I believe).  And two weekends ago when I was visiting my parents, I let my brother log into my account and create a character.  I’ve been trying to get him to play since I started, but he’s never got around to it.  I even bought him a battlechest at Christmas (which he re-gifted, totally un-cool). 

Anyways, he started an Undead Warlock and played on my account while I was home.  After leaving to come back to work, I got an email from him two days later saying that he’s got the game installed on his computer and wants to get his own account set up and have his lock transfered to it.  Hook.  Line.  And sinker!  So I’m pretty stoked about that right now.  I think he’s managed to get his lock into the 20s.  He ran RFC a couple times with some PUGs and learned has even managed to get himself a mention in this week’s noobstake.  What’d he do?  A couple things.  (1) Feared a mob that aggro’d the whole room and wiped the party.  I lol’d when he told me.  His group was pretty understanding about it when he explained that he just started playing and he learned his lesson.  (2)  Melee Warlock? Nuff said!  (3) One last thing, shadowbolt > wanding.  Start using your mana, and your life tap, and your drain life and your DoT’s and all the other eeeevil goodness that is TeH lock.

So I’m pretty stoked.  I’m saddened that it took him this long to see the light/come over to the dark side, but can’t wait for him to get up high enough to start enjoying the endgame with us.  I doubt he’ll get much time there with the impending expansion and all, but it should be enough time that he’s able to learn his class half-decently.

As my previous post alluded to, I’m focused on getting my hunter to 70, which isn’t all that far off.  After that, I’m going to try to keep pace with him on my rogue (if I can).  If not, I’ll help him out where I can and get him to our level as fast as possible. 

GUILDS

On another note, our posse of 5 (now 7) may soon be looking for a new guild.  Some guild drama that happened while I was unplugged from wow saw an end to the Salvation guild and while we currently have a tag over our names, we’re thinking about heading into another guild that suits our play styles a little better.  Either Sylus or myself will update more on that when we get it figured out.

GEAR

Since Grim is getting ever closer to 70, I’ve been thinking about what gear he should be getting to start raiding.  I’ve been trying to work on a little guide to getting Kara ready without extreme grinding or spending lots of gold.  Unfortunately, work has been very busy of late, and most of my free time has been spent actually leveling instead of writing/researching blog posts, as I’m sure you’ve noticed.  And I still have a few more weeks of this heavier work load and then I’ll be travelling some more for work.  So I don’t know if I’ll actually be able to get it finished.  I will try though, so look out for that in the next couple of weeks.

In the meantime, I’m going to be getting to 70, getting some of the essential faction rep requirements that I need for heroics, head/shoulder enchants and the odd piece of gear here or there.  Hopefully I’ll be able to pick up some badge gear and get started in Kara by July/August.  Even though I’ve done Kara a bunch of times, there are still a few bosses I haven’t seen before and I’d like to see them at least once before Wrath gets released.  Other than that, I’d like to see Mag once as well.  I’ve downed Gruul several times, and I’ve even been in SSC and TK (without downing anything) at least once.  I doubt I’ll ever get to see MH/BT, but thats okay.  Seeing as how I didn’t start playing until BC was released and didn’t hit 70 until almost a year later, I’m a bit late to the raiding party as it were.  I am definately looking forward to raiding a bit more seriously when Wrath comes out and I’ll be on a bit more of an even footing with everyone else. 

Well thats all the time I have for aimless ramblings today. 

Fikkle

2 Responses to “Family, Guilds and Gear, Oh My!”

  1. I wish I didn’t get hacked but as you can see, http://salvationcc.guildlaunch.com/ we’re doing quite well at the moment and very alive and kicking, I only wished that you guys had stayed a bit longer because we really did need and want you there at that moment. I only just now happened upon this blog and wished that I saw it a lot earlier. It’s very nice :)

  2. It was pretty unfortunate, but the timing just wasn’t right for us to stick around. It’s good to see Salvation is up and going well again, and thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

