About Me, Part 2

Not too long ago I decided to re-roll on a pvp server.  I had been at the ‘End Game’ for a few months and despite seeing some great new content, I wasn’t enjoying the game as much as I had in the past.  I wanted to see what a PvP server would be like and I was hoping that it would help me enjoy the game a bit more.  But when I re-rolled, I made a conscious decision to try something new, and I decided to see how I felt about the Druid.  So I made Zaels.  Within a few days, I’d convinced my best friend, Sylus, to join me and within no time we’d finished out the Barrens and were on our way to our first contested zone; Stonetalon Mountains.  It was quite a while before we spotted any Allys, but the first was a hunter, several levels above us.  Luckily, I’d spotted him before he saw us, so I stealthed and manoeuvred into position behind him while Sy decided to see if he’d be friendly by doing a /wave. 

Now, while I may have moved into a perfect strike position, we had no plans to gank him.  We just didn’t want to get ganked.  So Sy did the whole wave thing, and of course the hunter sees a lone lock a few levels below him, so /petattack.  At this point, Sy worried about keeping the pet off of him, while I scratched the crap outta the hunter’s backside.  Too bad for him that he thought Sy would be easy pickin’s.  We found out then that a Warlock / Druid combo is quite effective, and it continued to prove true through many other such encounters where we often came out on top against Ally’s a few levels above us, including a hunter and a shammy (on separate occasions) who we’re 8 and 7 levels above us respectively.

So with some cool world PvP under our belts we figured it’d be a good idea to have our [Insignia of the Horde] so we agreed to stop at 29 and BG til we had it.

After we got to 29, Sy’s bro and his bro’s wife Reav and Taki both joined us on the new server.  Reav started a Pally and Taki started a Druid as well.  So we decided to stay at 29 while they caught us.  But while they levelled, we PvP’d so much we decided to spend a little cash on gear upgrades and enchants until our guys were a bit twinked.  We were not super-twinks, but we did okay.

After all that, we figured we didn’t want to start levelling and have all that time/effort/gold go to waste, so we started over and tried to catch Reav and Taki.  We’d both had so much fun with our new classes that we decided to go with the same classes again.  So, I created Anteaus while Sy created Impios.  Since I’d gone feral with Zaels, and since Reav was going to be a Tankadin and Taki was taking her Druid feral, I decided to take the resto tree and heal when we grouped together.

Flash-forward to mid to late level 30’s, Ant started to pull ahead of everyone in XP then in a couple levels, since my schedule allows me more play time.  By the time I hit 40 I had four levels on them.  By 47 I was up by 6.  After that, I just took off.

However leveling as Resto in Cat form was not efficient at all.  By level 54 it was obvious to me (after 8 deaths from the same two mobs that I couldn’t take on) that I wouldn’t be able to solo level like that anymore, so I respec’d Feral to get the edge I needed.  Since I’d kept a full set of Feral and Resto gear up to date while I levelled, the change was no problem at all and the improvement remarkable.

Since then, I’ve managed to hit 64 with Anteaus and I’ve started working on Nagrand quests.  Reav and Taki are both at 56 right now, I believe, and Sy has gotten Impios to about 54.  In the last couple days I’ve taken a break from Anteaus.  I found some old screenshots the other day and got pretty nostalgic about my first toon.  I’ve been kicking myself for deleting him for a while now and with some recent developments, I’ve decided to revive him.  But more on that next time.

One Response to “About Me, Part 2”

  1. […] That has since led to a desire to move back to a pvp server.  For the world pvp.  But we’re not gonna take our level 80s.  For now, we’re (Sy and me) working on getting some heirloom gear to help with our lowbies.  We’re planning on leveling our Rogues (cause we’re original like that) from 30 back on Coilfang.  Yes, we both have Rogues around that level.  That’s where the Stone Keeper’s Shards come in.  It’s not going to be a full time thing, just something we do on and off when we get ye ole pvp shiver. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

