About Me, Part 1

Well, for starters, I have been playing WoW for a little over a year now.  While I had been following the game for some time before that, I was unable to get started due the un-Amazing Corporation of un-Truthful Lies that told me I was going to get high-speed internet service.  That, coupled with several work-related trips prevented me from getting a stable ISP for quite some time. So I missed out on vanilla wow… by a month.  Its sad, I know, but such is life.  When I first started out playing WoW, I had no friends who played the game previously and I had no idea what I wanted to be, so I decided to roll a hunter.  I know exactly what you’re saying… ‘how original!’ I know, wasn’t it?  I was THE Huntard to the Nth degree.   

Ultimately, I deleted the character around level 22 and re-rolled.  But I suppose I didn’t learn anything the first time around, cause I chose a hunter again, I just wanted to be a Cow instead of a Green Ape.  Unfortunately for me, I don’t believe either of those hunters actually taught me anything.  A few weeks back I found a screenshot I took of my second hunter running around in the Barrens.   Anyone notice anything… ‘odd?’

Yes, that is a staff in my hands…. /fail. 

Anyways, from there, I tried several classes, not really getting any past 10, until I went and rolled a Blood Elf to see what the new zones looked like.  When choosing a class I wanted to try something I hadn’t even considered yet, so I chose a mage.  Once I reached this point however, I got stuck.  I couldn’t, for the love of the god(s), think of a decent name for this mage.  I would type something in, read it over a few times, erase it, try again.  I even got up from the computer for about 10 minutes a few times to see if anything would come to me.  Nope, nothing.   

Finally I got fed up and wanted to just play and told myself to stop being so damn fickle… Wait, what?  That would actually be a good name for this guy.  I can’t make up my mind, and Blood Elves fit the bill.  Thus was Fikkle born.  I still have a screen shot from back then, and the funny thing is, Fikkle was the 8th toon down on my list.  Since then, the second hunter and all the alts in between have been deleted and Fikkle now resides at the top of the list.  It was on this toon that a random guild invite led to random introduction and ultimately, lasting friendships were built.  Here is Fikkle way back when…

 So thats how I ended up being Fikkle.  Next time I’ll talk about my fresh start and my most favorite (and frustrating) pastime: PvP and levelling on a PvP server.

2 Responses to “About Me, Part 1”

  1. Dude! Fikkle was the man, well, belf, well, whatever! That random guild invite did lead to alot of awesome experiences over the past year or so! This blog is good, I like the casual nature of it all, and the references to other blogger pro’s is great too!

  2. Thanks! Although, I don’t know if I can live with the whole ‘casual’ label…. I was totally goin for serious, stern or stale… How did I miss the mark?

    I’ve been looking for a newer screenshot of Fikkle to throw up here, but I haven’t found one yet. As you know, I’m a screenshot junkie, so it might take me a while.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

